Bates Athletics to honor 45 Senior Scholars at Tuesday's Senior Student-Athlete Celebration

Lindholm Scholar-Athlete Award winners (from left to right) Ben Eckardt, Ben Lyons, and Sarah Rothmann are among the Class of 2019 members being honored in the Student-Athlete Celebration on Tuesday, May 21. (File photos by Brewster Burns for Bates College)

LEWISTON, Maine -- The Bates College Department of Athletics will honor 45 graduating student-athletes with a Senior Scholar Award, in addition to presenting other year-end honors, at the Senior Student-Athlete Celebration, taking place in Memorial Commons on Tuesday, May 21 from 12-2pm. All graduates-to-be from Bates' Class of 2019 who participated in varsity sports at Bates are encouraged to attend.

The Senior Scholar Award will be presented to 45 seniors who have participated in varsity sports for four years and have maintained a cumulative grade point average of 3.50 or above.

Also to be recognized are student-athletes from the Class of 2019 who have won All-America, All-NESCAC, NESCAC All-Academic and NESCAC All-Sportsmanship honors over the course of their Bates careers.

This year's three winners of the Milton L. Lindholm Scholar-Athlete Award, going to the female and male varsity letter-winning athletes with the highest cumulative grade point averages, will also be recognized: Ben Eckardt (Montgomery, N.J.) of men's tennis, Ben Lyons (San Rafael, Calif.) of men's soccer, and Sarah Rothmann (Andover, Mass.) of women's cross country and track. Eckardt and Lyons tied for the men's Lindholm award.

Receiving Senior Scholar Awards, in addition to Lyons and Rothmann, are: Kristyna Alexova (women's squash), Olivia Amdur (women's soccer), Chelsea Anglin (women's golf), Katie Barker (women's cross country and track), Anika Becker (women's lacrosse), Michael Bennett (men's track), Molly Brooks (women's squash), Lauren Brough (volleyball), Katie Bull (women's squash), Stephen Bull (men's lacrosse), Sophie Claus (women's rowing), Eli Cooper (men's lacrosse), Ryan Corley (men's track), Connor DeSantis (football), Morgan Dewdney (men's soccer), Ayden Eickhoff (Corvallis, Mont.), Lucy Faust (women's swimming), Kyle Flaherty (football), Trevor Fry (men's rowing), Frank Fusco (men's track), Claudia Glickman (women's rowing), Sam Huebschmann (men's soccer), Eric Jordan (men's rowing), Taylor Lough (field hockey), Nick Lynch (men's basketball), Aleks Marceau (men's soccer), Cassidy McCarns (women's soccer), Shelbie McCormack (field hockey), Liam McLoughlin (men's golf), Madeline Moberg (women's swimming), Samantha Pierce (women's Nordic skiing), Lena Rintell (women's rowing), Ezekiel Smith (men's cross country and track), Hannah Smith (women's rowing), Michael Somma (men's track), Isabella Stone (women's tennis), Samantha Tyler (women's swimming), Walter Washington (football), Ian Wax (men's cross country and track), Morgan Woods (women's tennis), and Kristine Zengeler (women's track).

Ten of the Senior Scholar Award winners have won All-America and/or all-conference honors in their sport over the course of their Bates careers: Alexova (Boskovice, Czech Republic), Amdur (Chicago, Ill.), Barker (Burlington, Vt.), Corley (Oakland, Calif.), Eickhoff (Corvallis, Mont.), Faust (Piedmont, Calif.), Jordan (Stratham, N.H.), Lough (Little Compton, R.I.), Rintell (Brookline, Mass.), and Rothmann (Andover, Mass.).