Senior Scholar Awards

The Bates Senior Scholar Award, which effectively replaced the Bates Scholar-Athlete Society in 2016 (see below), makes clear the Bates Department of Athletics' commitment to the scholar-athlete ideal. The award honors graduating Bates seniors who have participated in varsity sports for four years and have maintained a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or above, and is presented at the Senior Athlete Recognition Ceremony on the day before Commencement.

Also honored at the Senior Athlete Recognition Ceremony are winners of the Senior Sportsmanship Award and the winners of the Milton L. Lindholm Scholar Athlete Awards, which have been given annually since 1976 to the senior male and female athletes with the highest academic averages. The awards honor Milton L. Lindholm, Class of 1935, who served as Bates Dean of Admissions for 32 years.


Scholar-Athlete Society (2005–2015)