Clarke Jones picked to play in USILA Senior All-Star Game

Clarke Jones is the ninth player in Bates men's lacrosse history to be selected for the USILA Senior All-Star Game. (File photo by Theophil Syslo/Bates College)

PROVIDENCE, R.I. -- Senior Clarke Jones will play in the 77th annual USILA/Nike Senior All-Star Game this Friday, marking the third year in a row that a Bates men's lacrosse player has been selected to play in the venerable event.

The Division III game takes place on Chapey Field at Anderson Stadium, on the campus of Providence College, on May 25 at 5:30pm. The Division I-II game follows at 7:30. Admission is free, and both games will be livestreamed on Lax Sports Network.

Jones (Pepper Pike, Ohio) was honored as Third Team All-New England last week by the New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association, after his remarkable senior season, in which he moved from midfield to attack and produced one of the greatest statistical seasons in program history. Despite playing in two or three fewer games than most other conference leaders, Jones ranked fifth in the NESAC in goals (52), third in man-up goals (10) and seventh in points (74).

Jones' outstanding all-around prowess is underscored by his ranking 14th in the league in ground balls, third among non-faceoff men. He is also tied for 15th in the conference in caused turnovers (16), and is the only player in the league's top 35 in that category who has scored more than six goals.

Jones is also a three-time NESCAC All-Academic selection, and will be one of 46 student-athletes from the Class of 2018 to receive Senior Scholar-Athlete honors on Saturday.

Jones is the ninth player in team history to be picked for the game. Three of his former teammates played in the 2017 game, in Charlie Fay, Fred Ulbrick and Kyle Weber, and a fourth, Jack Allard, played in the 2016 game. Bates Senior All-Star game alumni also include Dan Ross in 2005, B.J. Majeski in 2006, Matt Erisman in 2007 and Rob Highland in 2013. Head coach Peter Lasagna was the North team's coach in 2016.